2024 Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: Will be offered in Fall
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Follow Harvest Stewardship and always comply with your State Ginseng Rules and Regulations when collecting wild ginseng roots.
  • Page:

TOPIC: Is it too late?

Is it too late? 9 years 5 months ago #33432

Hello all! I'm new to ginseng and was wondering when the leaves and stem fall off the plant. When is it too late to spot ginseng in southern Indiana? We've had a light frost but the first hard frost isn't for a few days yet. I've been told a few different things and thought I would ask the experts on here ;)
Thank you.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:Is it too late? 9 years 5 months ago #33434

Welcome to the forum arbasham. Well, I don't consider myself an expert, but in a nutshell yes it is to late this year to make it worth your while i'm afraid. Usually, in most suitable areas of ginseng habitat you can effectively hunt it from Sept 1st through about mid to late October given you haven't had cold snaps, rain, wind, etc. Unfortunately, the ginseng season is so short you have to hit it really good through Sept and first few weeks of October. Although, you can find a few stragglers this time of year I don't think you will find a whole lot left, but it's a good reason to get out in the woods. It's the most beautiful time of the year! Good luck on your future hunts.

Re:Is it too late? 9 years 5 months ago #33444

I did my last hunt here in Middle TN on Oct 11... I hunted 5 nice hollows that I know have seng in them and found only 4 plants that still had tops up that were digging size. I quit for the year after that hunt.

We had a long dry spell late Sept early Oct and I think that put ours down and out a little earlier this year than normal.

TNhunter

Re:Is it too late? 9 years 5 months ago #33448