2024 Winter/Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: sold out
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Follow Harvest Stewardship and always comply with your State Ginseng Rules and Regulations when collecting wild ginseng roots.

TOPIC: What do you use for a Ginseng Digger ?

What do you use for a Ginseng Digger ? 13 years 9 months ago #4013

I have been hunting Ginseng for many years - started back in highschool (graduated in 1979) and continue to do so today.

Over the years I have used a variety of diggers ranging from a sharpened stick (say if found a patch while out squirrel hunting) - - - to a screwdriver if nothing better was easily available. I have used small short handled grubbing hoe type tools which worked very well.

The past 5 years or so I have been using a old grubbing hoe type head with a 36\" hickory handle.

The head is fairly light (but STRONG) and has a 1.5\" x 5.25\" blade on one side, and a 3\" x 5.25\" blade on the other.

The longer handle works nicely - I can dig most roots out without even bending over much and as long as you start digging out a few inches to the side or behind the root you can get the entire root system out with no damage.

The longer handle also works nicely as a walking stick - helps to get around on those steeper hillsides. It also works nicely on the occasional Tennessee Timber Rattler or Copperhead.

I am including a couple of pics attached so you can check it out.

Would be interested in hearing what some of you other seasoned diggers are using to extract that green gold.

TNhunter

Attachments:

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:What do you use for a Ginseng Digger ? 13 years 9 months ago #4014

This one shows the entire tool - 36\" handle and all.

PS - The first handle I had made for it was made of ash. I broke it in just a few hours of digging and replaced it with a hickory handle - no problems since that change.

TNhunter

Attachments: