2024 Winter/Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: sold out
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Is this ginseng?

Is this ginseng? 12 years 7 months ago #11713

Hi, I'm a newbie. I've been looking at every picture on the net and reading everything I can get my hands on. My sister and I walked all over her property in North Georgia, its in the Chatahoochee National Forest. Finally on the third day I found a plant I think is ginseng, the stems were green all way to ground unlike Virginia Creeper. The leaves looked right and there was three plants growing out of the same place, and each stem had three prongs so I dug out around it; no berries, we didn't see any berries, is anyone finding berries? Anyway, one of the smaller plants has the neck that looks like all the pictures but the one I dug up is big with a LOT of tendrels (or what ever you call 'em) but if doesn'thave the neck (that I can see anyway). It has a very distinct aromatic smell to it I've never smelled before, it's not over whelming but it's unique. I'm attaching some pictures but the leaves are wilted so their not much help.

Any advice on how to spot ginseng and seperate it from the imposters would be appreciated.

Thanks and here's hoping your season is prosperous.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:Is this ginseng? 12 years 7 months ago #11722

Nact by the way you describe the smell it quite doen't soound like it is ginseng but i don't want to give you a definite answer without seeing a pic of what you are talking about,

Try and get those pics up and then we will be able to tell you for sure.

Re:Is this ginseng? 12 years 7 months ago #11733

If you have some photos that would get it identified.

all my 3-leafer 'sang is purple stemmed. Hope you didn't dig posion ivy! Laughing..... just kidding....

Re:Is this ginseng? 12 years 7 months ago #11735