2024 Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: Will be offered in Fall
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Storing ginseng?

Storing ginseng? 11 years 5 months ago #21200

Hey guys. I had a couple questions to ask you long time sangers and dealers.

I have a certain price range I want to sell my ginseng at, and if it doesn't reach that price this year Can I store ginseng, and if so how, AND for how long will it keep quality?

Its my first time ever doing this lovely addiction and I only managed to rake in around 2 pounds this year dry. And I figure if it doesnt get to a nice price range I might as well keep it until I feel I get my moneys worth. + I could add it to my next years pile ;)

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:Storing ginseng? 11 years 5 months ago #21201

I am no expert on storing roots . But this being a drought year prices are exceptional .Best sell into this market store roots when they are below $300.00 range . Cardboard barrels store roots well. Good luck !

Re:Storing ginseng? 11 years 5 months ago #21202

I use shoe box then stick them down in a cedar chest.Now im not for sure but I had a oldtimer tell me to put it in a freezer bag and keep it in the freezer.

Re:Storing ginseng? 11 years 5 months ago #21203

I wouldn't recommend it but I stored some Ginseng roots on the top shelf of a closet for 3 years! The closet is not effected by moisture, excessive heat and excessive cold and the Ginseng roots were kept in a open box top. I did not store it because of the price but because they was so little of it that I wanted to dig more to add to the pile before selling! The funny thing was that Dealer/Buyer asked if some of the Ginseng roots were from last year and I said yes (I just didn't say what year :blush: :). He still gave me the highest going price based on a pound as they all were quality dug Ginseng roots!

Frank