2024 Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: Will be offered in Fall
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: New member

New member 10 years 8 months ago #23446

Hello everyone, I'm a 25 year old male located in Northern Middle TN that loves to be in the outdoors. Although I've been digging wild ginseng now for several years on family members land, I'm still what most people would consider a newbie, therefore I have a few questions. This year I plan on expanding on the areas that I dig,is there any necessary requirements that I will need other then the land owners permission. Also in years past I have just sold my dry ginseng to a local buyer that pays me so much per ounce. I was wondering if thats how all buyers work or do they pay me not only by weight but the quality of the roots too. All advice and knowledge will be greatly appreciated and I'm very excited about this upcoming Season.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:New member 10 years 8 months ago #23450

Hello mshirley34,

Welcome to the fray!

We have some Tennessee diggers and dealers in here who will be better prepared to advise you on the specifics of digging and selling in that state.

I will point out though, that guality over quantity is rapidly becoming the norm in the wild ginseng world. Roots which are boney (heavy and dense) are basically undesirable. Also long thin roots (pencils) are also not desirable.