2024 Winter/Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: sold out
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Just became a member.

Just became a member. 13 years 6 months ago #5951

First of all, great site. I love this place. This is my first year hunting, and i love it. Alittle addicting, is the only down side to it lol. I have a question about the weight of sang, roughly what does it take wet/green, to make a dry pound? I've always heard of people setting it out in the dash board of a car/truck or something drying it, but from what i've read on here, thats not the best way of doing it. Is room temp. the best way to dry sang?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:Just became a member. 13 years 6 months ago #5967

• Billy
  • Dealer
  • Dealer
  • Billy Taylor from Bell County Ky
mark78,

Welcome to the site and forum,

My favorite way to dry ginseng is to take set a screen up about 3 feet off of the floor and lay the ginseng on top of it,then you can use many different types of blowers but I just buy a tempture controlled small heater at any local walmarts.Sit the heat level on low where the air is just barley warm air.Sit the heater on the floor about 2 feet back from your screen then just leave it.The ginseng will dry perfectly in 3 days.This is a little slow for others,but I like it because the ginseng turns out perfect with no damages at all to the roots.

You can dry them in a car window,but sometimes if it gets to hot it will fade the seng and dealers do not like that.

Some try to dry them in a oven,dont ever do that....that ruins the ginseng.

My brother sits his in a box thats open and after 1 week turns it over and lets it sit another week this is a slow way of drying it,but again the ginseng drys with no damage at all.

Im sure some of the others on here can give you some exsamples of how to dry as there are many good differs on this site,

Again welcome abord,

Billy.