2024 Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: Will be offered in Fall
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Post your experiences, questions and answers about growing wild-simulated ginseng
  • Page:

TOPIC: Controlling Fungus: Natural Means

Controlling Fungus: Natural Means 12 years 10 months ago #10150

Hello board!

I have a little something to share with you guys, that I actually learned in college *cheers*!

I graduated with degrees in biology and biochemistry. For my biochem senior thesis, I collected, extracted, purified, tested, and isolated anti-fungal compounds from mosses and lichens that I purchased or collected. A ton of work, unfortunately, with little usable result.

Anyway, my research adviser had come across some papers which talked about the wonderful anti-fungal properties of Lemon Grass. We purchased some extract off the internet and went directly to our bio-assay to test activity.

We plated three types of fungus. Saccharomyces cerevisiae, Candida albicans, and Aspergillus niger. We soaked some sterile paper discs in different dilutions of the essential oil extract, placed them in triplicate on the agar plates, and waited for the results.

Three days later we couldn't believe our eyes. Even the most diluted of samples had inhibited growth to an extent that we had never witnessed, even when using the control anti-fungals.

I suspect this \"natural\" anti-fungal could be used on plants with great effect, if other options are unavailable or have not produced results.
Since this is an essential oil, it must be made into an emulsion or put into a solution that it is miscible in before it is sprayed on plants.
Mixing it with some soapy water and shaking it up a lot would probably work to create a diluted foliar spray.