2024 Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: Will be offered in Fall
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Post your experiences, questions and answers about growing wild-simulated ginseng
  • Page:

TOPIC: Transplant ion of thick 2 year olds

Transplant ion of thick 2 year olds 10 years 3 months ago #27151

I hear the conventional wisdom about not transplanting until the plants are at least two years old. Some have also said the the time to transplant is well into the growing season.

Has anyone talked with some experienced about this sort of thing? Like some old timers that have been around growing for many many years.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:Transplant ion of thick 2 year olds 10 years 3 months ago #27152

Whitjr,
I have been doing a lot of transplanting of rootlets for a few years and I can tell you some facts that I have found that work and don't work. You are really taking a risk if you dig a rootlet before it goes dormant. If everything else is done properly and at the right time, one year old rootlets can be transplanted successfully. I buy the small split cane sticks at Wal Mart to mark the plants with before they go dormant. I can then go right to them and know where to dig. Try to leave some dirt attached to the roots as you dig them and that will assure success. Be sure you get them back into slightly moist dirt as soon as they come out of the ground. One of the worst problems that you will have after you transplant is skunks and other critters coming right behind you and digging them up during the night. They can apparently smell the rootlets and sense the loose soil. I have started covering the rootlets with soil and leaves, then laying down a small roll of screen wire like you would make window screens from and then covering it with leaves. You must then lay rocks or heavy pieces of wood along the edges to keep them from getting under this and digging. As you get ju