2024 Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: Will be offered in Fall
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Post your experiences, questions and answers about growing wild-simulated ginseng
  • Page:

TOPIC: Cutting Ginseng Flowers

Cutting Ginseng Flowers 10 years 1 month ago #27603

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to ginseng and this site, so I welcome any and all advice. I'm planning to plant the wild-simulated method with Castle Farms ECF seeder. I know that I hate raking from past experience as a landscaper. Plus, it seems like that would leave all the competing plants for diversity to help maintain the health of ginseng. My starting location will be northeast Iowa on some property my father owns. The advantage there is he'll be siting looking out the window at the hillside with the ginseng everyday through the whole fall season, so I don't have to worry about poaching. He's a pretty serious bowhunter. The downside is there are plenty of deer. If they decide ginseng is a delicacy, I'm probably gonna have to fence.

I was reading Scott Persons book and noted his comment about cutting the flower stem as it comes up and how it can increase the root weight 20-30%. Does anybody have any experience doing this?

By my calculations doing this 5 years could increase the root weight 100%. Since I'm expecting to compete with every rodent and turkey in the woods for a limited supply of wild-simulated produced seed anyway, it seems like I'd be further ahead just buying seed for additional planting and going with the increase in root size. Also, it would require woods time in the summer instead of more time needed in the fall when I'd rather be planting or harvesting, or bowhunting.

My one concern is whether the price per pound would be the same, or like cultivating, if I increase the root weight would I also be reducing the value of the root per pound.

Thanks for any advice you are willing to share!
Randy