2024 Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: Will be offered in Fall
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Post your experiences, questions and answers about growing wild-simulated ginseng
  • Page:

TOPIC: Average weight of roots

Average weight of roots 14 years 3 months ago #3254

Greetings everyone-

I am new to this, and although I have the ideal location for growing ginseng, am just now getting to where I am about to plant some seed (I feel it grows naturally, but a neighbor has been stealing it).

I'm trying to gauge results, and was wondering how large ginseng roots get. How much can I expect a root to weight at 5 years and at 10? Can anyone help with this?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:Average weight of roots 14 years 3 months ago #3258

Howdy Red,
The answer to the question varies in many ways.
use this link for vast amounts of great info for growing.
First you need to reach an understanding with your neighbor! Make him a working partner or something ! hehe... my neighbor plants his own. The pic is of a root from the seed I planted
in the fall of 2006
Hope this helps.... jim

www.wildgrown.com/index.php/Table/Ginsen...les/Growing-Ginseng/

Attachments:

Re:Average weight of roots 14 years 3 months ago #3260

Thanks Jim-

So that root has seen three growing seasons then. How much does it weigh?

My neighbors aren't the type to trust; their dog bit me in the face in 1995 and I never got so much as an apology. My big problem is that I do not reside on the property, but if the results are what I think they will be, it will be worth my while to buy a used camper and live up there for half the year to keep an eye on things until I harvest it.