2024 Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: Will be offered in Fall
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Post your experiences, questions and answers about growing wild-simulated ginseng
  • Page:

TOPIC: Is it too late to plant seed?

Is it too late to plant seed? 13 years 4 months ago #8132

Hey all, this is my first year planting strat seed and I was just wondering if it is too late to plant the half pound I still have? I'm in western north carolina, and am really not familiar with the term ground freezing. The only stipulation I can find on fall planting is that it must be done before the ground freezing. Currently the temp here is about 33, what do you all think?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:Is it too late to plant seed? 13 years 4 months ago #8133

If you can scratch around the dirt and cover the seed a little bit then go ahead, but when the ground freezes , you can't. Here in Tn the ground is froze now but it won't stay that way for long . When it does thaw out I still have around ten pound to plant myself. It only says that because you are unable to work the ground when it's froze.

Hillhopper

Re:Is it too late to plant seed? 13 years 4 months ago #8138

Thanks for the insight Hillhopper. As soon as temperatures rise above freezing in they'll go. I am not sure if the forecast is the same for you next week over in TN, but they are calling for teens here.

Re:Is it too late to plant seed? 13 years 4 months ago #8141

Hunz,

Agree with hillhopper - and what we have now here in Middle TN is really just a light freeze. The ground is not froze hard at all.

I think you could actually use a good ground freeze to your advantage if you can keep your seed good until it thaws.

When the ground freezes it rises up and when it thaws the ground is really soft and sort of fluffed up.

That would be a ideal time for scratching around and planting ginseng seed.