2024 Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: Will be offered in Fall
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Post your experiences, questions and answers about growing wild-simulated ginseng
  • Page:

TOPIC: Ginseng Growing Land

Ginseng Growing Land 7 years 1 month ago #39711

Good morning all,

I am a Minnesota newbie to the Ginseng growing so I wanted to get a little advice from you all, I'm a 19 year old and wanted something profitable to do in the great outdoors. I am interested in starting to grow some wild simulated ginseng on a wooded piece of property, I haven't bought the property yet as I wanted some advice. The land is 12 acres of steep hills and dense hardwood trees, on the north side of a river valley. The issue is that about 50% of the trees are oak trees, the rest are some elm, birch, etc. but I was wondering, is that too many oak trees to successfully grow sang? I'd appreciate what help you guys would have. Thanks!

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:Ginseng Growing Land 7 years 1 month ago #39712

Also let me say this property is right on the Minnesota River Valley, which has been known for good ginseng growing and there still is some wild ginseng up in the hills. So my main concern is just about the oak trees.

Re:Ginseng Growing Land 7 years 1 month ago #39715

Hey MNsang welcome.
Back 30 years ago I tried growing some ginseng in a woods full of Oak. Guess what you are right. The oak leaves are just to heavy. Yea some little ones will make it up but the majority will do their best to push through only to run out of energy. You can literally lift up the oak leaves and see a ginseng seed sprouting a white stem up to 2 to 3 inches long laying sideways looking for a way up only to run out of energy. If they don't make it up the first year they will never make it up as they are dead.

Solutions below: