2024 Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: Will be offered in Fall
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: BEST DEPTH TO PLANT SEEDS

BEST DEPTH TO PLANT SEEDS 12 years 7 months ago #13093

I'M NEW AT THE GINSENG EXPERIENCE. WHEN PLANTING SEEDS, I'VE GOTTEN CONFLICTING ADVICE ABOUT HOW DEEP TO PLANT THE SEEDS. I DON'T WANT THE SEEDS TO DRY OUT. I'M FAMILIAR WITH THE \"RAKE AND BROADCAST\" METHOD OF PLANTING. SOME WEBSITES HAVE SUGGESTED PLANTING THE SEEDS AS SHALLOW AS 1/4 INCH, OTHERS HAVE SUGGESTED PLANTING THEM AS MUCH AS AN ENTIRE INCH IN DEPTH. I KNOW THAT DIFFERENT SOIL TYPES MAY HAVE AN EFFECT. WHAT IS YOUR ADVICE ABOUT THE BEST DEPTH TO PLANT GINSENG SEEDS? aLSO, IS MULCHING A RECOMMENDED STEP?:)

THANKS FOR YOUR HELP,

ROACHY

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:BEST DEPTH TO PLANT SEEDS 12 years 7 months ago #13108

Roachy,

I would say that the ideal depth will vary by location and soil type and the type of mulch used.

If you are doing wild-simulated plantings.

In the average woods soil and considering you are mulching with the leaf litter that naturally occurs in good ginseng woods (not too much oak, but more maple, poplar, softer easier to break down leaves)...

I would suggest the seeds be covered with 1/2\" to 1\" of top soil (including that composted leaf layer that might be considered part of the top soil) and then cover with leaves (loose a couple inches deep).

I played around some with different planting methods last fall.

I did some with standard rake and scatter method that I would say got the seeds covered around 1/4 inch deep in leaf mulch (mostly) then loose leaves.
I had excellent germination and they were looking fine the first week in June.

When I checked them agian the first week in August they were all gone.

We had basically no rain from July 1 until Sept 4 this year and some extreme heat during that time.