2024 Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: Will be offered in Fall
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: stratified seed

stratified seed 11 years 6 months ago #20631

im kinda new to planting.we had some established plants ,that were stolen.we recently purchased new seed. we were wundering how long that stratified seed is good for , as far as planting. ( shelf life)
thanks

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:stratified seed 11 years 6 months ago #20633

eidigger,
I believe that most members on here will agree that if conditions are favorable ie.good soil moisture, tools and time are available, that you should probably get them in the ground before the leaves fall. If your ground is still very dry, you might want to store them properly and wait until it rains some. Be sure that you don't place the seeds where the temperature gets close to freezing. You'll have a problem with germination if you do.
If you live very far North, consider freezing ground as well. I hope some others will chime in and you are able to get this right. If you have a failure, it's very frustrating
Good luck with them.
Hugh

Re:stratified seed 11 years 6 months ago #20650

thanks for the in put. unfortunetly it dry, and the leaves are falling hard, thats why i was asking about how long the stratified seed would be good (shelf life)?
thanks for any input
kevin

Re:stratified seed 11 years 6 months ago #20651

eidigger,