2024 Summer/Fall Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Pre-orders accepted for pre-set shipping dates
* Ginseng Rootlets: Pre-orders accepted for fall shipment in October
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Where do I send soil samples in NC.

Where do I send soil samples in NC. 9 years 9 months ago #29154

I plan on making a trip to Madison County, NC in Sept or 1st week of Oct. I'm taking soil samples from a possible piece of land I plan on buying. Where do I need to send the samples? NC Dept of AG or can I send the samples to a county extension? A second question I have is, if I come the last part of sept or 1st week in Oct., will the vegatation under the canopy of poplars, maples ect. still be visable? Or will they be on there way to dormancy. I'm new to this, so I'm trying to learn and have all my ducks in a row. The piece of property is large. Do I need to invest in a gps to document the areas? Thanks for any advide and suggestions.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:Where do I send soil samples in NC. 9 years 9 months ago #29155

Hello garthNJessica, welcome to this forum.

I live in NC. Please go to your local NC dept of Ag county extension to get the correct soil samples boxes, the submission form, and follow the dept of ag's instructions. A filling the boxes, labeling, and sealing them is time consuming, however the samples analysis is free thru the dept of Ag as long as you are a resident of NC. and, as long as the samples you are submitting are submitted to the County extension from May thru nov.(I think). Wintertime samples are subject to a fee.

It taks about 6 weeks to receive results. The Dept of Ag likes to get results to you electronically, so a good email addy is important to the process. Initially, the instructions seem a bit bulky, however are really simple enough.

I have found that boxing the samples ink the \"official\" boxes takes as long a as gathering them.

Good luck!